Traveling…

California RedNeck Country….. I think this one speaks for itself?CAtrip-9507Needless to say, I didn’t want to stick around too long. So I don’t want to hear about focus and depth of field and all the rest of the techno stuff. πŸ˜‰CAtrip-9509

I knew I was different. I thought that I might be gay or something because I couldn’t identify with any of the guys at all. None of them liked art or music. They just wanted to fight and get laid. It was many years ago but it gave me this real hatred for the average American macho male.
― Kurt Cobain

44 thoughts on “Traveling…

    • I’m working on the software to keep the brain cells firing… that is I keep trying to learn new stuff, but figuring out the manual controls on the digital camera is just beyond me (for now.)

      Like

        • It’s almost too complicated for this old brain, but I have monkeyed a bit with simply taking over aperture or shutter speed individually. But the results I get from running on auto are satisfying enough that I never seem to develop the motivation to dive any deeper.

          Like

            • Have been shooting exclusively in RAW since the photo workshop I took last Jan. I’m almost giddy taking the tutorials and learning the magic of post-editing. Still SO MUCH to learn, but some of the tricks I’ve been picking up should be noticeable in recent posts.

              Like

              • Since I have done a bit of reading myself, I have often wondered if you are shooting in RAW. I am very impressed with your work Gunta. Keep ’em coming! πŸ™‚

                Like

    • Can’t say that I’d blame them the more I thought about it. I bet they moved out to the sticks (forest in this instance) to get away from it all and then have mobs of tourists and hunters invading and trashing their place.

      Like

  1. Interesting exchange in the comments. One of the first things I learned when studying law was that the ubiquitous signs ‘Trespassers will be Prosecuted’ were erroneous as trespass is not a criminal offence in this country. The balance of privacy and the peaceful enjoyment of your own property versus the rights of all to enjoy their countryside is a very tricky thing. We experience it here with our network of public footpaths – they are based on centuries old rights of way but often cross farmers’ fields. We have a lot less space to play with here so conflicts are inevitable, although we mostly rub along ok. We have neighbourhood watches here too, in fact we are part of one. Of course, our signs have a cute picture of a civilian and a policeman, not a gun! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Somewhere in my muddled state, I lost an initial reply to this…. hard catching up once you’ve fallen behind. How do you manage it? But you summed it up quite nicely in your comment about balancing privacy and peace v. allowing others to enjoy this wonderful land of ours. I suspect this sign owner has to put of with mobs of tourists and hunters given the location he’s chosen to live. I might feel a bit cranky, too, knowing how rude and annoying some folks can be. Pity the nasty ones tend to spoil it for the rest of us.

      Like

    • Subtle isn’t quite the word I might have used, but given their location…. miles upon miles of public wooded areas, I’m sure they get hoards of tourists and hunters crawling everywhere doing really stupid stuff. To be honest, I’ve been tempted to put up a sign warning off the frequent ‘visitors’ trying to sell me their ‘religion’.

      Like

        • I knew you were joking, but I forgot to add the winky smiley, but I suspect you knew my remark was meant tongue in cheek…
          The door knockers, or more accurately doorbell ringers… amplified by setting the dog to barking, are quite persistent around here. I’ve had evil thoughts of rigging an electric shock to the doorbell….. (warning friendlies, of course!) 😦 or should that be an evil grin?

          Like

    • Hmmm… that certainly got me thinking. I tried to imagine how your opposite extreme might be. I’m not sure I’d like the idea of just anyone wandering up to my house without any sort of control whatsoever. This sign was pretty close to someone’s home, so I can’t actually object to the intention, though the attitude was a bit over the top. Then again we do have plenty of areas open to the public in our forests and parks and such. This particular home was in an area surrounded by such public lands, so they may have had to contend with a lot of idiots feeling they could invade their personal space and do crazy things. One thing I love about my state (Oregon) is that quite some time ago it was legislated that our beaches were to remain open to the public up to a certain zone above high tide.

      Like

    • Well, could be, but the image of the gun was pointed at ME!!! πŸ˜€ That was a bit creepy. The critters sure were tame. Didn’t spook at me pulling up and snapping those pics. The little spike could easily turn up to be dinner along with the turkeys.

      Like

Leave a Reply

