seascape

CoquillePointBack to the beach

That over these sea pastures, wide rolling watery prairies, and Potters’ Fields of all four continents, the waves should rise and fall, and ebb and flow unceasingly; for here, millions of mixed shades and shadows, drowned dreams, somnambulisms, reveries; all that we call lives and souls lie dreaming, dreaming, still; tossing like some slumberers in their beds; the ever rolling waves but made so by the restlessness. 
― Herman MelvilleMoby-Dick; or, The Whale

37 thoughts on “seascape

  1. I’ve not read Moby Dick since sometime in the early 80s, but that first line struck me as classic Melville (even before finishing the quote or looking to the end to see whose words they might be)…he has such a way with describing the sea. Beautiful companion photo and words, Gunta.

    Like

    • I haven’t read Melville since my high school days (eons ago), but he sure pops up a lot for words having to do with the sea, I’m not sure I appreciated him enough when I was forced to read him.

      Like

  2. Gunta, I’m always meaning to visit you, but then I forget. Spotted you today in Andrew’s comments and it gave me the kick I needed, so many thanks to Andrew. Your photography is immense!

    Like

    • Funny thing… quite often I stumble onto a quote I like fairly quickly. This one took awhile to find. Would have posted this shot last night, but couldn’t find the words to go with it until this morning. I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

