nesting

I’ve noticed this huge nest many times on the highway leading into Bandonosprey-6728but this weekend was the first time I actually saw some activity there. I went back for a better look.
(atop the second power pole from the left edge)

These were taken with the 250mm zoom and cropped pretty radically. Looks like an Osprey family has taken residence and is raising some young ones.
(click on any image for the slide show)

Some bonus flight shots.

There’s a video that explains about the marshland being restored around this bridge area…. Β it’s worth viewing if you didn’t catch it the first time I posted it.
CLICK HERE TO SEE THE VIDEO

45 thoughts on “nesting

  1. What a great find, Gunta…how nice to see the platform being used, too. Do you now if the birds built the next themselves, or was that provided along with the platform?

    Like

    • Thanks! πŸ˜‰ Not sure just how precarious it is. That nest had been there for several years at the very least. Given some of our hurricane force wind gusts during winter storms out here, it seems to have survived rather nicely.

      Like

    • I was hoping it was a heron nest, but I’ll settle for osprey. Don’t think we have storks around here… though perhaps if the marshland gets fully restored?

      Like

    • Actually, I’ve had my eye on that nest for years, wondering who it might belong to. It didn’t take all that much patience once I spotted activity for the first time. I sat for perhaps a half hour, but the osprey were quite busy feeding the chicks after a short bout of fishing.

      Like

    • Thank you, footsy. These latest shots have me drooling for a better zoom lens. πŸ˜‰ The birds are so lovely to watch in flight. Wish I might have had a bit of a look at the chicks.

      Like

    • Thanks! I sat there for a bit over a half hour. Luckily it was in a location where I could see the adult approaching the nest from a distance. I suspect there were some hungry chicks in that nest that needed feeding.

      Like

    • Thanks, Newsy. You may remember a video I posted last October about the marshland restoration. This nest is above that marshland area. I added a link to the video for those that hadn’t seen it.

      Like

    • It was pretty exciting. I sat and watched and snapped for at least a half hour, sitting at the edge of the highway. I added a video that’s fun to watch if you’re interested about the marshland they’re restoring in that area. And, yes, I’m very grateful to the birds.

      Like

  2. I like the fact that some one built a nesting platform for the osprey, it won’t be too many years and you’ll be seeing osprey all around the area. Wonderful photos, even if you did have to crop them down, especially the flight photos.

    Like

    • There’s quite a bit of controversy over it, but there’s been a move to restore some marshlands near this estuary. I posted a video explaining what they were planning and working on at http://wp.me/pXX8J-1Bb. The nesting platform sits above the marshland site to the left of the bridge. The river continues off to the right and out to sea. This seems like a good place to add the video once again for those who missed it before.

      Like

      • Yeah, there’s always people who don’t understand that there’s a ripple effect with a project like this. Not only is the habitat in the area improved and increases in wildlife there, but most of that wildlife moves around, like the birds and the fish, so the improved habitat there increase wildlife in other areas as well.

        Like

        • Well, there are farmers along that stretch of river who will be impacted by the marshland, so that’s where the opposition comes from. We had a referendum which came out against the marshland expansion. I’m not sure where the expansion stands at this point. I still see signs up in quite a few places saying ‘no’ to the expansion. I checked the U.S. Fish and WIldlife site (http://www.fws.gov/oregoncoast/bandonmarsh/lpp_1.htm), but it doesn’t look like anything is currently happening. I’m delighted at the thought of this Marshland Expansion, but then I don’t have a farm up along the river either.

          Like

Leave a Reply

