WordPress glitches

I’m finding this one especially annoying…….flower-6538Recently my NOTIFICATIONS drop-down thingee has started listing my replies to comments and then it seems to lose some comments from other people – or perhaps they are getting lost amongst my replies (though I don’t think so… I’ve gone back and searched for some and not been able to find them.)

All this just to let you know -or possibly excuse me if I haven’t replied to something you’ve said….. Β my apologies, but also a raspberry to WordPress…. Β for some reason this goofy problem upsets me more than most of the (many) others. 😦

37 thoughts on “WordPress glitches

  1. I’ve many issues with that same problem. For many months I wasn’t getting any notifications of replies to my comments, so of course I couldn’t remember which blogs I had commented on. All of a sudden, about a month ago, it all reappeared. Go figure.

    Like

          • Turns out it was a minor issue…. the comment below provided a clue. You may have noticed I changed my gravatar recently and apparently WP wanted me to sign in under the gravatar (not the usual log in for the blog). They even provided a button for me to do so, but I hadn’t noticed it. Luckily it’s fixed now. And that’s a good thing. (And I did attempt to suck it up… πŸ˜‰ )

            Like

  2. I sometimes have the same problem, but then found that I wasn’t logged in to WordPress for my comments. I had to click on the WordPress icon every time before commenting and replying to comments. It’s very annoying when this happens, not to mention time consuming. Love your Iris pic. Very different.

    Like

    • I ran into the bit where I was mysteriously logged out and had to do as you described, but this is a different kink. I’m logged in and it remembers my stuff, but all of my replies show up in the toolbar dropdown notifications, which ends up burying other people’s comments or replies more often than not.

      Thanks for the compliment, but I’m not sure this is an iris. It’s a plant with huge leaves and the flowers are on a very tall stalk. I tried something different and shot up at it, getting the flowers from underneath. I have no idea what the plant is since it was here when I moved. I think it’s the first time it’s bloomed.

      Like

      • Then again….. you may have solved the problem. I started taking a closer look and noticed that there was an additional place it wanted me to log in underneath the place where I type my replies….. It looks like my reply to you above did not show up in notifications. THANK YOU!!!! πŸ˜€

        Like

  3. It’s hard to complain about what is free, but I still do when WordPress refuses to do what I think it should. They keep tinkering with things, and I just wish they would stop. lol…

    Like

  4. Annoying to say the very least Gunta. As you know, I’m not best pleased with WP myself just now. I’m still having problems with likes and comments disappearing into people’s spam folders… We’ll get there, maybe. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • My feeling with WP has always been that they tend to move on to the next new, latest and greatest thing before they get the kinks in the last thing worked out. Then they end up tinkering and leaving the users scratching their heads.

      Like

    • It seems to have been somewhat sporadic. I’ve had both good and not so good results. This same or nearly same thing happened quite some time ago. I believe I stumbled into a solution on my own, but now I can’t remember what it was I did….. sigh

      Like

  5. Problems here too as I recently changed the look of my blog and for some reason it wouldn’t let me change the color of my header font. I finally gave up and just added text to my header photo. Frustrating! Lovely flowers here though Gunta!

    Like

    • I wasn’t even going to mention the problems with font or text size I’ve had, but I have to admit the good bits do seem to outweigh the bad… every so often I just can’t seem to keep all the muttering to myself. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. I just thought it was Eric Holder forgetting to put everything back where he found it. But yes to the sign in demands, and the format seems to have gone through an unauthorized shift of colors on the dashboard, and I still can’t figure out when I’ve replied, and all the little ‘kitchen sink’ gizmos are blank instead of icons.
    All that aside, and no you’re clearly not alone, I really am fond of WordPress and not just because I’ve got the free version. It works far better than any website I set up, and encourages discourse, which I like a lot. The photos are reproduced beautifully and the magnify feature very good, too. Raspberries aside, I hope all the kinks get worked out for us all. And yes, incredibly beautiful plant above. One of those paradise surprises.

    Like

    • Oh, I so appreciate WordPress for all the things you mentioned and then some, but once in awhile they do stuff that leaves me baffled and then the mutters just seem to take over… thus this post.

      Like

  7. I have had my fair share of WP glitches too. Did I ever tell you about the time that music starting spontaneously playing in my Reader? But only in my Reader?! Fun times.
    Cool flower pic, are those spider webs I see in there?

    Like

    • Do you suppose WP listens to us? I appreciate what they provide here, but these changes probably annoy us more advanced (in age) folks more than most… 😦 (speaking only for myself, of course, as to the age bit!) πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Perhaps you’re just lucky… or if I was a bit paranoid, I’d say they’re just picking on me! πŸ˜‰ Thanks, it’s one of them really tall spiky ones that’s a challenge to shoot.

      Like

    • I have no idea (another one that was here before I moved in). The flowers were a surprise because the rest of the plant was those huge leaves that are generally decorative, but don’t often flower. I probably should have included a shot of the the rest of it.

      Like

    • I suppose it’s a relief to know I’m not being singled out, but I can’t help but wonder why they can’t just leave well enough alone… or slow down changes until they get them right.

      Like

Leave a Reply

