cooling off at the beach

Bullards-6398Still sunny, not a cloud in the sky and much too warm, but it was cooler right on the beachBullards-6360I wanted to stay.

As an afterthought, I happened across the following shot that came right after the one I posted yesterday (of the bird bouncing on the water). I had assumed that yesterday’s bird was trying to take off, but…..  Bullards-6340this shot actually shows the bird coming in for a landing – either that, or he totally botched the takeoff. I also identified this guy as a Common Murre. That’s the birds that have the huge colonies up on the cliffs. They look a lot like penguins when they’re perched up there.

Tiger got to hunt, bird got to fly;
Man got to sit and wonder ‘why, why, why?’
Tiger got to sleep, bird got to land;
Man got to tell himself he understand.
― Kurt VonnegutCat’s Cradle

29 thoughts on “cooling off at the beach

    • Probably because the composition is better, more balanced. The beach and the weather haven’t cooperated much to produce anything very exciting lately. The wind has been wilder and more uncomfortable than usual.

      Like

  1. Looks like you must have had a fine storm with all that driftwood on the beach. The most fun thing on the beach – wondering through looking at all the shapes and, if lucky, taking a few special bits home 😉

    Like

    • There are some spots along the beaches that seem to collect a LOT of driftwood. The one in the above shot has to have the parking lot cleared out with heavy equipment after the worst of the winter storms. I have to admit to becoming rather blasé, we have so much of it. Keep in mind the currents are bringing us ‘treasures’ from the Japanese Tsunami.

      Like

    • Luckily the forecast is for things to cool down pretty soon. Sadly, though, I missed a pretty spectacular looking sunset tonight, but there’s no telling if it could have been seen in fog at the beach, or not. Then again, I’ll likely stay closer to home until after the crowds celebrating the 4th thin out.

      Like

    • Worse places to be… as in the previous comment (below)? 😉 This has been a rather weird hot spell I must admit. Even the beach didn’t have the usual fog that I love so much. But I bet there are plenty of tourists who are totally happy.

      Like

    • EVER? But the thing I found hardest to take was the Florida humidity (actually that’s true for most of the East Coast). But then I’m one of them weirdos who has a hard time with anything over 80°… Then again we seem to be breaking records all over the West.

      Like

      • Yes, rarely over 100 in Florida. Much hotter much more often in, say, Arizona, and even in places like Redding CA. On the other side of the coin, I’m one of those who wears socks to bed when it gets below 60! 🙂

        Like

  2. Just looking at these images reminds me of cool ocean breezes…so beautiful! Love seeing that Common Murre flapping on the water, I’d like to be doing the same right now. Hoping you get some cooler weather soon and when you do, please send some to the east!

    Like

  3. I’m glad you were able to cool off a bit Gunta. I’m still waiting for a bit of sunshine here in Cornwall. The weather people are predicting some improvement over the coming days. It really would be good to get out and take some pictures. Feels like a long time. I’ve got a commission to produce an album of photos depicting the Cornish landscape and heritage. Photos don’t look great in the dull light we’ve been experiencing of late.. Hope it brightens up but like you, I don’t like it when it gets too warm. 🙂

    Like

    • For the most part it really is cooler at the beach here. It’s just that I am so spoiled with having so few other folk at the beach (normally) that I’m tending to stay away this week because it’s going to feel mobbed because of the holiday week. Perhaps not by East Coast standards, but as I said… I’m very much spoiled. 🙂 Perhaps I need some lessons in sharing 😉

      Like

  4. Guess this summer heat is finding all of us. We’ve needed to run the A/C in the RV during the day. Fortunately it cools off at night. Maybe we’ll head to a higher altitude while you hang at the shore 🙂

    Like

    • A couple of things to note….. very few folks have A/C here (me included). I’m complaining about temps in the low 80s. I am not a lover of heat. There are plenty of folks out reveling in this warm 4th of July week. And if you’re closer to the beach, it is rather nice. I have a hard time when I can’t cool the house down to 70 (or below) at night. Normally this is not a problem because the cooling fog from the coast usually reaches me by nighttime – except for a few days in August maybe. This hot spell is a bit unusual and I’m not a happy camper. To top it off, because of the mobs of tourists, I’m not too keen to head to the beach… sigh (but this too shall pass). 😉

      Like

  5. Great pics again, Gunta. Yes, it’s always cooler at the beach here on very warm days. That poor ‘common’ Murre really did a belly flop, didn’t he? I’d hate to be called a ‘common’ something or other. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh Sylvia, there’s no way I could picture ‘common’ applied to you in any shape or form. 😉
      I’m wishing I lived closer to the beach. Hubby never did want to be too close. Now that he’s gone, I did move in about half the distance, but it’s still a 20 minute drive (more or less). Hindsight has me wishing I’d gone even nearer…. then again I’d be dodging all the tourists this week with the 4th of July ruckus. I suppose there never is a perfect solution. (unless you have far more money than I could imagine, and even then…..) 😀

      Like

        • I’ve been in Florida in the summer and I nearly turned into a puddle of sweat. I felt as if every move had to struggle against palpable humidity. Even in winter Florida didn’t appeal to me. Good thing there’s choices out there for everyone.

          Like

Leave a Reply

