Shore Acres in bloom

A wonderful formal garden perched on the cliffs overlooking the wild Pacific….flowers-5980This one looked more like a caterpillar than a flower…
(only wish they’d label more of the plants)flowers-5983charming, but again unidentifiedflowers-5995the colors and the shapes are enchantingflowers-5940this one may be a tiger lily…  the rose garden deserves its own post… it’s that spectacular…

Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom. 
― Marcel Proust

34 thoughts on “Shore Acres in bloom

  1. All so lovely !! I remember the bottle neck tree we had in the yard in CA; all the hummingbirds flocked to it and it was so nice to sit out on the deck and watch them. They would be hovering there so near that you could easily touch them!!

    Like

  2. We loved visiting Shore Acres and your exquisite photos brought back lovely memories. That first photo looks like bottlebrush, but don’t quote me on that. 😉

    Like

    • The gardens with all their varied plants are such an amazing place and the bit that’s hard to convey is that it all sits on the cliffs above the ocean. It used to be an estate owned by one of our lumber barons, but was donated to the state and preserved as a park. How lucky for us!!!

      Like

  3. I have to say that you, your camera, and your new lens sure did yourselves proud with those photos! Some of the flowers look as if it could be tricky to get the exposure correct, but your photos are excellent.

    Like

    • You have no idea how much fun I’m having with the lens. Or, perhaps you do. It’s been fun even if I get strange looks as I crawl amongst the flowers.

      Like

  4. Stunning macros that made me smile. Do you care to reveal what mm macro lens yoiu are using or do you prefer to keep your equipment a secret? I will not feel offended if you do not make this publuic. Maybe you did write some where in the past posts and I did not see. Sorry to bother you.

    Yvonne

    Like

    • Hi Yvonne. Thanks for the kind words. No bother and I don’t mind giving Canon a plug since I love the new macro lens so much… it’s the Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro (though it works quite well for a general walk-around lens, too — see http://wp.me/pXX8J-2eh)
      Pity my theme doesn’t support adding metadata.

      Like

      • Thanks so much. I have a canon camera as well. I just can not decide what mm macro to get since I want to use as a possible portrait lens for pets. I need to research that a bit more. Thank you again for taking the time to answer my question.

        Regards,
        Yvonne

        Like

Leave a Reply

