poppies in pink

poppies-5645I had intended to get the native California Poppies (orange)… instead it seems I was given hybrids. I was rather pleased to see they showed more spunk than expected from a hybrid. They’re actually quite pretty and going strong their second season. I would have been even happier had I gotten the deep, vibrant solid red variety, but these pinks are quite beautiful in their own right.poppies-5576

Weeds are flowers, too, once you get to know them.
― A.A. Milne

poppies-5577With freedom, books, flowers, and the moon, who could not be happy?
― Oscar Wilde

poppies-5625The earth laughs in flowers.
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

39 thoughts on “poppies in pink

    • I’m quite certain these are man-made hybrids. It’s why I’m a bit uneasy about how well they’ll do for more than the first few seasons. I had never seen them before they popped up in my garden rather than the classic orange California poppies I was expecting.

      Like

    • I didn’t know they existed either until they popped up out of a six-pack I thought was going to be the classic California poppies. Even the orange ones were hybrids with ruffled edges. Not the stuff that grows wild in fields all over California near the coast.

      Like

    • I’d never seen these beautiful pinks before either. It may look like summer, but we’ve had those wild winds for days now keeping it refreshingly cool.

      Like

    • I had never seen pink ones like this before either, but last year I bought a six pack of what I thought were the original orange California poppies and was surprised to see these pop up. They are rather pretty, though.

      Like

    • Thanks for the sweet words…. I love the variegated pink of these blossoms, but I fear that they won’t be as hardy as the wild ones. I’ve had another variety that was a most luscious red and it disappeared after a few seasons, but the original oranges continued on. Seems the opposite of mixed breed dogs generally being healthier than the pure breeds.

      Like

Leave a Reply

