still more mountains and clouds

utah-4830Looking at the Utah’s Wasatch Front from Cedar Valley. Once upon a time this used to be just part of the magnificent view from my house.utah-4828We were in an elongated bowl-shaped valley, surrounded nearly 360° by snow-capped mountains. None of the houses you see at the base of the nearest hill were there. There were some scattered houses and the rest was wheat fields or sage brush. It was glorious…. except for the weather.

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. 
― Ralph Waldo EmersonThe Complete Prose Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson

29 thoughts on “still more mountains and clouds

    • I did truly lovely these mountain scenes when I lived here, but for me beach is a first love. Or I wonder if I tend to simply love the place I’m currently at?

      Like

    • The views did make it all bearable when life and work kept us there for 14 years. Pity circumstances had me less focused on photography at the time… then again those were the days of film, an entirely different approach to shooting. 😀

      Like

    • Of course there were other considerations, but weather was a major factor. Utah summers are extremely hot, winters pretty unbearable. With very little moderate weather in between. You have to keep in mind what we moved TO…. nice moderate weather and beautiful coastal scenes. I suppose my love of living near the ocean might have been a deciding factor.

      Like

  1. Beautiful setting. Is this near Cedar City or closer to Salt Lake City? Amazing how clouds in the sky can ad so much personality. I’m glad the weather cooperated for your trip….it’s not always so accommodating, is it?

    Like

    • Cedar Valley is just SW of SLC…. due west of Provo. Our mail would sometimes get sent to Cedar City by mistake. I couldn’t believe the show the clouds put on for me. I felt very special.

      Like

  2. is that snow up thar? We get snow on our mountains for a couple of hours a couple of times during the “winter”. You can usually sit around in t-shirts and watch it melt. lol…You guys seem to have all the clouds. We don’t get many. Let go of a few huh?

    Like

    • Back when we lived there (1980-94), the last of the snow didn’t melt off the mountain tops until late August. From the looks of those peaks in mid-May, that snow won’t last nearly as long. I think I hit the jackpot for clouds the week I visited. They aren’t always that magnificent, though they do seem to stack up as they encounter those taller peaks. I lost whatever influence I had when I moved out West…. sorry! 🙂

      Like

    • Oh, it was glorious! Watching lightning storms out across the valley was beyond imaginable, or the first dusting of snow at the beginning of winter. We might have stayed if it weren’t for the weather. Utah seems to have just two seasons… flaming oven hot and sub-zero frigid… with the tiniest touch of spring or autumn in between. I timed my visit perfectly catching that week of springlike cool, but gorgeous spell I’ve been showing off here.

      Like

  3. You’ve chosen some remarkable places to live, and of great contrast one to the other.
    You also see the glories of both or perhaps of the planet generally. That takes a nice
    level of grace.

    Like

    • Your comment set off some interesting thinking. Rather than “chosen” I might have said “gravitated toward” some remarkable places. Growing up in a big city, I eventually drifted toward places closer to nature. From Boston to San Francisco, I moved on to the Sierra Foothills, then the area I’ve featured here lately… these days I’ve settled on the wild Pacific shore. What could be better than that? I don’t know how much of it involved conscious choices, but the tug or yearning played a huge part. It seems that most wild places speak to me….

      Like

Leave a Reply

