clouds erupting

It almost seemed as though the clouds put on a special performance for me….utah-5043looking east across Utah Lake
utah-5049

I have learned that if you must leave a place that you have lived in and loved and where all your yesteryears are buried deep, leave it any way except a slow way, leave it the fastest way you can. Never turn back and never believe that an hour you remember is a better hour because it is dead. Passed years seem safe ones, vanquished ones, while the future lives in a cloud, formidable from a distance. 
― Beryl MarkhamWest with the Night

39 thoughts on “clouds erupting

      • Yes, you are right. I worded that wrong and please erase some of my wording. I meant a different idea but I did not go into detail therefore it sounds bad. The drives that you go on and the scenes that you capture are just wonderful. I admire your ability to photograph that makes for an entertaining blog. Keep up the excellent work.

        Like

        • It’s quite alright. I think I sense what you might have been trying to say, but as you noted, it didn’t come across quite right. Thank you for the kind words.

          Like

          • Thank you for the nice reply. Much appreciated. I will try very, very hard to watch my sentences and not let my thoughts get twisted in the writing. Or something to that effect. Of late I don’t have much energy or time so maybe I should shorten my comments and then I won’t get intpo trouble. 🙂

            Like

  1. I love looking at clouds and, with the many storms we have been having here in OH, there is plenty of opportunity. I guess when I take photos of clouds here I could just PhotoShop some mountains in the distance. 🙂 Lovely, lovely images Gunta.

    Like

    • Sounds like you need to start working on PhotoShop…. 😀 Then you could maybe do beaches and surf, too! 😉 Thank you for the very kind words, as always!

      Like

  2. Such beautiful images of a familiar and wonderful place…and such wisdom in those words…maybe not to everyone, but to me, anyway……thank you, dear Gunta. PS: I’m glad you made it in time for the show that was put on just for you. 😉

    Like

    • You must realize that it was your beautiful shots of these dear familiar and wonderful places that drew me back there to experience them for myself. I thank you muchly for that! And the timing couldn’t have been more perfect… unless I had stayed a wee bit longer. I’m still thinking of places I might have explored or traveled to. I find it a bit sad when folks don’t learn from those words. It must be a strange life, always looking back.

      Like

      • You are most welcome for the inspiration (?) to come back for another visit, Gunta….and thank you for the kind words. And yes, it’s a bit sad when people don’t learn from those words…….

        Like

  3. Wow! There’s a lot to be said for being in exactly the right spot at the right time, and you sure nailed it this time! Of course such “luck” happens because you go looking for it, most people think that it will come to them.

    Like

    • You hit it spot on…. if you could have seen how anxious I was to turn down an offer of lunch because those clouds were calling to me…. luckily my friends understood and fixed me up a quick peanut butter sandwich and off I went.

      Like

    • Missing you, too. I think I’ve moved so much in my life that it isn’t all that difficult to leave places behind, but it was surely fun to revisit. The weather was so perfect it almost made me wish I was back there until I remembered summers and winters. 😉

      Like

    • Thanks, Sylvia. Some quotes just seem to resonate more than others. The clouds were simply mind boggling. I hope you don’t get tired of them because I have literally hundreds.

      Like

Leave a Reply

