blowing in the wind

A bit tough to catch a shot when the breeze keeps tossing the subject around. But it’s a relief to discover that shooting in RAW finally comes closer to capturing the true colors in the red spectrum. Seemed as though the following peony kept showing up more in the magenta tones when jpeg was doing the processing for me……flower-1Then I’ve always been in love with the California poppies, but I’ve never been able to capture their glow when the sun shines…… (though I do try)flower-2I miss the California fields this time of year when they are literally covered with the orange poppies and purple lupine…flower-3Sorry, I have no lupine to show and the grape hyacinths have already wilted.flower-4But the breeze had this delicate petal waving at me….

I believe there is something of the divine mystery in everything that exists. We can see it sparkle in a sunflower or a poppy. We sense more of the unfathomable mystery in a butterfly that flutters from a twig–or in a goldfish swimming in a bowl. But we are closest to God in our own soul. Only there can we become one with the greatest mystery of life. In truth, at very rare moments we can experience that we ourselves are that divine mystery. 
― Jostein GaarderSophie’s World

39 thoughts on “blowing in the wind

    • Unfortunately our climate seems to be getting too hot, too soon for my liking. It’s been abnormally warm this early in the year and we seem to be missing our fog which at least cools things down for the night. I’m wilting.

      Like

    • Sounds to me like someone is a bit anxious to get out here…. 😀 The poppies are easy in any old bit of poor soil… and they’ll spread and reseed. Not so sure about the lupines. I don’t see them in too many gardens. I’m guessing there must be a reason.

      Like

  1. Your Californian poppies are vibrant and the movement with the wind rather lovely, if not for the photographer! Our fields of red poppies are late this year due to the cold and wet start but with the promised sunshine they’ll be in full glory soon. I would love to see a filed of orange poppies.

    Like

    • California is where the wild poppies and lupine cover some of the fields. It is a sight to behold. The California poppy does come in a gorgeous shade of red and another pink version, but they’re hybrids and aren’t as hardy as the orange ones. I planted some, but I rather doubt they’ll come back on their own like the classic version, which is spreading out and thriving for me.

      Like

  2. Beautiful paeony – not something I would ever see in a garden here. We still have our daffs unfolding, it has been a chilly start to the year – though recent rain is bringing the grass into growth at last. It’s proving expensive for the farmers, who still have their stock indoors. I was out and about with my camera yesterday but there was little to see, it’s all very dead and yellow just yet – signs of spring included the odd lamb and a baby rabbit… and a curious absence of Greylags.

    I too love California poppies. The colours are amazing.

    Keep it up with the RAW, it gives you far more options post-shot. One thing to keep in mind is that there is no pride in not post-processing RAW images, they are intended to be addressed as the camera does no work on them. I didn’t twig that until very recently!

    Like

    • I had a vague inkling of the advantages of RAW, but until the photoworkshop, I was intent on saving disc space. Then I was encouraged to shoot in RAW which led me to dumping the horrendous iPhoto which scattered copies of each image adjustment hither and yon. Thanks to LR4, I should be able to proceed in RAW from now on. The advantages are already becoming quite apparent. (But it was an insane struggling sorting it all out.)

      Graylags… another species I’m not familiar with. It will be wonderful to see them if/when you get a shot.

      Like

      • t looks as though the greylags are all gone now. When I say “all” – we usually retain a couple of hundred throughout the year, but they tend to hang out at the north end of the island,where I rarely visit. They will be back in the autumn though, in their thousands. I shall do my best to get some photos. The best that I have at the moment are the ones that I took for my “fog” challenge.

        Perhaps you know them as the pink-footed goose?

        I miss the geese when they are gone, it seems strange to lie awake at night and to not hear them honking.

        Like

        • No, I don’t believe this continent gets your greylags. The geese in our area are limited to the Canadian geese or the domestic variety. Though other areas get other versions here or there.

          Like

    • It occurred to me this morning that the difference betweeen RAW and jpeg can easily be summed up as the difference between having a darkroom yourself (RAW) and sending your film out for commercial development (jpeg).

      Like

    • These poppies were the first of the early arrivals. I’ve been lucky to have them spreading on their own and looking quite happy about it so far. 😀

      Like

    • Yes, it’s a peony. The blossom has already started to droop. Too heavy for the stem to hold it up… if only someone would get out there to stake it! 😀

      Like

    • Thanks, Chilli. I’m thinking what I might try to catch that glow is to set the camera on the ground and try to capture some sunlight shining through the petals….. somehow? 😀

      Like

  3. Peonies already! They are just starting to open here. That’s wonderful. I loved the way you captured the wind.

    Like

    • I have two peonies side by side and this one always blooms first, but the blossom is so heavy the wind usually knocks it to the ground (I really SHOULD get out there and stake it)… the other (neon pink) one is far bushier and blooms much later. It looks like an entirely different plant altogether. But I’m utterly thrilled that the poppies seem to be taking over out front.

      Like

Leave a Reply

