surfing geese

Who knew the geese played in the surf. I’d never seen them there before, but they certainly announced their presence -as they’re apt to do with the honking heard at a distance.

click on any image for slideshow and captions…

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body 
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting –
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.
― Mary Oliver

37 thoughts on “surfing geese

    • Not my doing… not overly fond of plucking or cooking :D.
      Don’t have much to do with the light. Perhaps I’m simply drawn to it. Then again I don’t generally show the ones that don’t come out so good.

      Like

      • I think you use light very well, in reflections, contrast – in a different way than you use colour. By the way, I think ‘Waves’ would be a nice name for your blog, or ‘something’ Waves, Dream Waves, She Waves…heh heh..maybe just Waves!, or The Sea And I, or or…I’ll stop!

        Like

          • Interesting. You bring back memories of younger days when I tried steak tartar…. it had to be true love to get me to eat it. But I also learned that meat was actually edible when not cooked to shoe leather (I believe that’s an old Latvian tradition). Raw Japanese fish is OK once in awhile for me, but octopus a bit too chewy.

            Like

  1. What a lovely pair of geese, and they’re having so much fun on their seaside holiday. 🙂 I know all about their honking. We used to get them on our neighbour’s roof in Johannesburg; always early on a Sunday morning when we wanted to lie in. 😉

    Like

    • Luckily the honking never bothers me because they don’t congregate near my home. I have to go looking for them, like this honeymooning pair at the beach.

      Like

    • This was rather strange indeed. I might not have noticed them but for the loud honking off in the distance. Then it seemed this pair drove off another pair. These two seemed so engrossed in playing in the surf that they let me gradually move in reasonably close. What an incredible treat that was!

      Like

  2. even geese need a bath from time to time, or only to tickle the toes, although toes is a stretch when it comes to geese I suppose.

    Like

  3. They are together for life, and the male protects his female mate. In the old time, the bride and groom would get a pair of geese as a symbol of “love” maybe, they still do in the country side of China.

    Like

    • For a long time I was afraid of geese because a domesticated variety attacked me when I was about four years old. These days I simply love to see them or hear them in the wild.

      Like

  4. I love these surfing geese. There are geese in the pond in the next field to me. They commute between this pond and a much bigger pond with many more geese down by the sea (at least that’s where I assume they go) as that’s the direction they set off in and it’s like a major bird convention every day down there. Each morning they take off, honking with every wing beat only to return, again honking very loudly, just after dark and waking all the other birds I’m sure. I’m very fond of them. Lovely post Gunta. 🙂

    Like

    • I love these guys, too. Pity they leave our area for the summer. They certainly are a noisy bunch though. I can’t think of too many sounds I like more than geese flying overhead and honking, unless it’s owls hooting back and forth.

      Like

      • Ahh don’t get me started on the owls. Another bunch of birds that have no respect for the peace and quiet I seek in my country idyll. I exchanged the endless, incessant police sirens and traffic of London in favour of the countryside only to find it’s almost as noisy.. 😉

        Like

  5. I spend a lot of time watching geese. Just when you come to think that they are rather intelligent birds, they do something to explain where the old saying “silly goose” came into being. There’s some pretty awesome wave action going on in the background too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

