the ‘hood…

This cute little guy, a black oystercatcher, just stood there to have his portrait taken….IMG_7486and this was his neighborhood…IMG_7487I have yet to figure out what them things are that look like mini-palm trees, but that rock is just teeming with all kinds of life. There’s some purple sea stars there along with that bright orange one that jumps out at you.

I found a tiny starfish
In a tide pool by the sand.
I found a tiny starfish
And I put him in my hand.

An itty-bitty starfish
No bigger than my thumb,
A wet and golden starfish
Belonging to no one.

I thought that I would take him
From the tidepool by the sea,
And bring him home to give you
A loving gift from me.

But as I held my starfish,
His skin began to dry.
Without his special seaside home,
My gift for you would die.

I found a tiny starfish
In a tide pool by the sea.
I hope whoever finds him next
Will leave him there, like me!

And the gift I’ve saved for you?
The best that I can give:
I found a tiny starfish,
And for you, I let him live.
― Dayle Ann Dodds

43 thoughts on “the ‘hood…

  1. They look like they are on a deserted tropical island with those plants that look like palm trees. Love the oystercatcher’s beautiful orange beak. 🙂

    Like

    • The kind of bizarre thing is that I didn’t realize what a neat scene I had until I downloaded it. I was mostly trying to get a shot of the oystercatcher and decided to take in the gull at the last moment. 😀 That beak is something else, almost like a tube of lipstick.

      Like

    • I couldn’t have asked for a better scene. Sorry, no giant birds. The palms are a form of kelp that grows in the intertidal region of our Pacific Coast. A comment below provided me with a link at Wiki.

      Like

  2. That is incredible, and I love the poem as much as the bird, and that’s one spectacular bird. The ‘island’ looks like some kid’s idea of backyard setup for wild things, young at heart mother nature. It’s shocking in a most delicious way to discover it’s all real. I love that back wave too, imagine wild water and fantasy rocks for companions and equals. What a place you live in. In one fell swoop you’ve introduced me to the Oystercatcher, orange starfish, and seaweed palm trees. Thanks for the transporting.

    Like

    • Thanks for the very kind words. I fell in love with that poem which I think comes from a children’s book. I just love the concept it’s trying to get across. As for the “island”, I certainly couldn’t have asked for a better setup. You are certainly most welcome for the transporting. Sharing just doubles the fun (and then some)!!

      Like

    • I was really lucky to catch the miniature island scene like I did. It almost looks like a setup if I didn’t know better. I wonder if one of them little cocktail umbrellas would have added any ambiance? 😀

      Like

  3. Wonderful images…and very nice words, too…my little one is always wanting to bring flowers home, but I tell him that they need to stay out there…there are even signs in some places asking that we not pick the wildflowers…we need to keep the seeds out there where they can spread and grow…anyway…very nice post. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for the very nice words. I wish more folks would pay a bit more attention to the signs to leave the tidal inhabitants where they are. Just lifting them off of the rocks can harm some of them. I also really enjoyed the poem.

      Like

  4. Over 12 years ago I spent a night at a b&b along the ocean in Mendocino County, California. When the tide was low, the pools were amazing to view and the rocks were covered in starfish and mollusks. If the water can stay clean, the life is teeming.

    Like

    • I’ve just spent three nights (evenings) out at the beach with a minus tide. I’m hoping to learn more about these fascinating critters that inhabit the intertidal zone.

      Like

    • Thanks footsy. I’m really just discovering this unique world that can only be seen at very low (minus) tides. I don’t think there are actually little fishy things because those rocks are generally under quite a bit of water and I’m guessing fishy things would swim away. But I have taken a lot of photos of the other thingies clinging to the rocks and plan to figure out what they are and, of course, do a post about them.

      Like

  5. These are really lovely pictures Gunta. Those little palm tree type plants make this look like a little island paradise, albeit a rocky one. That oyster catcher is a real cute little fellow. Great post! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Chilli, I couldn’t believe it when I came across that little scenario. It almost looks staged. And to top it off, I’ve gotten an explanation (w/link) to the little palm tree in a comment. Life is good! 😀

      Like

    • Very professional. Note that the oystercatcher turned his bright red beak both left and right for a proper look.

      The wave is an optical illusion probably caused by zooming in on the bird. The first shot gives you a better idea of the actual water level, though even that’s a bit deceptive. But it’s probably more exciting to think of it as ominous! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

