My neighborhood….

Equal parts of reality and wishful thinking…..  this is probably where I hang out more than anywhere else during a good many of my waking hours…. especially during bright sunny days like today. There’s so much more of it (beach) during a minus tide. Normally these rocks are surrounded by (more) water.IMG_1413_2For West is where we all plan to go some day. It is where you go when the land gives out and the old-field pines encroach. It is where you go when you get the letter saying: Flee, all is discovered. It is where you go when you look down at the blade in your hand and the blood on it. It is where you go when you are told that you are a bubble on the tide of empire. It is where you go when you hear that thar’s gold in them-thar hills. It is where you go to grow up with the country. It is where you go to spend your old age. Or it is just where you go.
― Robert Penn Warren

IMG_1444Normally don’t get to see these guys unless it’s a really low tide…

It seems that this week’s Photo Challenge was supposed to be taken by a cell phone. I’ve never tried to take a photo with my Mickey Mouse cell phone. I have a very nice camera for that. So, this isn’t a phoneography response….  perhaps I should quit doing the challenges?

Another example of the challenge… Ese’s Voice

42 thoughts on “My neighborhood….

    • Thanks Sylvia. All of nature’s wonders simply fascinate me. I happened to catch three minus tides- the only time you can get to see these critters lately. Just haven’t gotten around to posting them yet.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My Neighbourhood | Mike Hardisty Photography

  2. In regard to the very last line of the narrative in your post, I’m not too terribly surprised that you’re doing it your own way, Miss Gunta. 😉

    And now in regard to the rest of the post, I do love that first image and am intrigued by the second one. What a beautiful neighborhood you have…lucky you…waaaaay out west. 🙂

    Like

    • Uh oh… seems like you might have me pegged?

      I am also intrigued by the critters in the intertidal zones. Since the above shot, I’ve gone back and taken a whole bunch more shots of the various life forms to be found. It looks like I’ll need to do some studying on them. As for the neighborhood, it’s pretty amazing alright!

      Like

  3. Gertrude Stein once said about the West Coast that “when you get there, there isn’t any there there.” So cute as a quip but of course so untrue as a matter of fact. I love the Pacific Ocean. Your “neighborhood” I consider my spiritual home, even though I am often elsewhere. Thanks…

    Like

    • I could have sworn I replied to this already, but it looks like it’s gone missing. I had to google what Stein actually said and apparently she was referring to her childhood home in Oakland, but the quip sounds good. Though like you, I don’t agree with the sentiment.

      Like

    • I wish I lived just a wee bit closer to the beach, but the drive over there is pretty, too, so I can’t complain too much. I’m afraid that housekeeping and other more mundane matters would suffer if it took a bit less effort to go there.

      Like

    • Manī atkal rodās (Amīšu zaļā) skaudība redzot Latvijas skaistos skatus! Or to put it more succinctly: ‘the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence’.

      Like

  4. Great neighborhood! Amazing the variety of life co-habitating the rocks. There’s at least 3 species of barnacles in your photo.
    I forget most of the time my phone has a camera… one of the most incongruous sights here is folks using laptop computers to take photos of the ocean, lid up, looking at the screen as they wander along the edge of the bluffs… yikes!

    Like

    • I’ve been wanting to learn more about the life in the intertidal zones. That bit about the folks wandering around looking at their computer screens is pretty scary. I’ve developed a healthy respect for the edge of the bluffs. You could almost call it a phobia. 😉

      Like

      • I’m with you on the edges, not just the thought of slipping myself, but the possibilities of the whole edge giving way underneath.
        If people want to look at the ocean via their computer screens they can simply visit our blogs… 🙂

        Like

  5. So beautiful, Gunta. What a back/front yard you have! Are you next to this glory literally? Is it outside your doors and windows? It’s incredibly fine. The shell composition is sterling. You have an eye for very subtle color and shades, tones in the sky and sea, and these shells. Low tide is my favorite, too. You get to explore the rocks that were circled by the sea ~ always a feeling of triumph! And like these all the washed up or disclosed critters that had been swooshed by gallons in the deep. They must think of it like our dawns and sunsets and know what’s coming when. Very beautiful. I’m grateful for your generous intro to your coast.
    And the Robert Penn Warren quote is so good, so right.

    Like

    • No, sadly I’m about 20 miles from the beach, but I do spend a good part of my time out there. Thank you for the generous compliments. I had a friend recently blog about learning to accept them more graciously. 🙂

      Like

  6. I would love to explore your beach Gunta. I like low tide too as often more rocks are exposed. One particular beach I like has a huge rock with a hole that you can only see at low tide but it’s a long walk once the tide is out. Lovely pictures and I love your comment on the phone camera. I too have a very good camera for taking pictures and a phone for talking to people on.. 😉

    Like

    • Low tide is indeed fun. I ought to make more of an effort to catch it a bit more often. I also want to learn a bit more about the neat critters that inhabit the tide pools. That’s actually one thing lacking at “my” favorite beach.

      Like

Leave a Reply

