signs of spring

One of the sure signs that spring is nearly here….IMG_0968In Latvian and other European cultures, pussy-willows are associated with Palm Sunday since palm trees don’t grow that far north.

IMG_0995And the gorse has started to bloom well ahead of most other plants by our seashore… be sure to note the nearly deadly, extra long thorns on these invasive plants.

IMG_0957_2There’s still some winged migrants hanging around (even some ducks barely visible in this shot if you look closely).IMG_0966But I believe this offers a clue as to why my birds are so skittish….. the above was found at my feet where I stood to shoot the previous image…  I believe that’s what is called bird-shot.

55 thoughts on “signs of spring

    • Yes, it’s an egret. It seems there was still enough water left out there to keep this guy hanging around for just a bit. I love our winter lakes very much. It seems that I just happen to like changes (for the most part).

      Like

    • Thanks, Rick. I consider that high praise coming from you. I believe this was one of my first attempts at going to aperture priority mode, as I gradually learn to deal with the manual controls.

      Like

    • Isn’t approaching spring just the loveliest?
      I hesitated about adding the bird shot, but there it was right at my feet in answer to my question of why my birds were so reluctant to let me take their picture.

      Like

      • Hate it when birds in migration are targetted. How do they think their larder is stocked? Grump grump grump! We have hunters on our land and find these cases all too often. What is it about 10 signs saying private property/ hunting forbidden that they don’t understand?

        Like

        • We have some pretty draconian fines (confiscation plus fees) for illegal hunting and the number of permits are limited, but I’m sure there’s still poachers. I’ll grump right along with you because I can’t help but worry about all the species, both bird and others, that are being wiped out.

          Like

  1. Oh, those pussy willows remind me so much of my childhood in England. I collected some for my teacher, and was so proud when she stuck them in a vase in the classroom. They lasted for ages. The gorse flowers also hold fond memories. There were so many of those bushes dotted around the park where my sister and I used to play. That bird shot is not a good thing to find. 😦 Thanks for sharing your signs of spring.

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed to first two. I hesitated about adding the bird shot, but there it was right at my feet in answer to my question of why my birds were so reluctant to let me take their picture.

      Like

Leave a Reply

