flu the coop

A few images left over from the River Walk in Fortuna while I battle the flu and contemplate jury duty…. (haven’t quite decided which of those is worse.)

IMG_0350_2

It was only a smile, nothing more. It didn’t make everything all right. It didn’t make ANYTHING all right. Only a smile. A tiny thing. A leaf in the woods, shaking in the wake of a startled bird’s flight. But I’ll take it. With open arms. Because when spring comes, it melts the snow one flake at a time, and maybe I just witnessed the first flake melting. – Amir
― Khaled HosseiniThe Kite Runner

IMG_0345_2

Some might think that the creativity, imagination, and flights of fancy that give my life meaning are insanity.
― Vladimir Nabokov

IMG_0355_2

Every bird that flies has the thread of the infinite in its claw. 
― Victor HugoLes Miserables

IMG_0367_2

Footsteps in the snow
suggest where you have been,
point to where you were going:
but when they suddenly vanish,
never dismiss the possibility
of flight… 
― Diane Duane

37 thoughts on “flu the coop

    • I’m never quite sure what is flu or cold… or possibly even allergies. Whatever it was that hit me, it was pretty mild. Could have simply been needing to catch up on some of the sleep I missed on the trip. But yes, I’ve heard the flu has been pretty nasty. Don’t know anyone around here who has actually had it.

      Like

    • Extremely disgusting combination. Holding my own pretty much with the flu/cold (?)… so far. Then hoping my number doesn’t come up for the jury duty. Appreciate the lovely words and thoughts!

      Like

  1. Kale soup sounds like it could kill bugs! Let’s hope it works and you’re well soon. Great captures of the honkers, there’s a resident flock here on the river and that’s what they’re doing a lot of right now.

    Like

    • I’m hoping kale soup does kill bugs (though it’s a favorite)… plenty of rest and (was it you who just watched Coco and Igor? it came in the mail today) plan to watch it between bouts of napping… Looks like I missed a killer sunset tonight though.
      If memory serves, you’re somewhere near Perpetua? which would make it the Yachats? I love the sound of the honkers. I don’t get to hear them much here and our flooded pastures are drying up so they’ll be gone soon until next year.

      Like

  2. Kale soup sounds draconian. Or Dickensian. In any and all events get well soon.
    The thing about jury duty, you might miss out on being the decisive vote on some
    exceptional murder trial! And after it’s all over, write a book, become a best selling author
    and get interviewed by Baba Wawa! And then the movie version, and then….oh. No time
    for delish Gunta pictures of wild places and things. Never mind.

    Like

    • Tuscan Kale soup just happens to be one of my favorites… so far, given the kale and some Chinese herbs, I seem to be holding the worst aspects at bay, but it might be a mere cold that’s “bugging” me. (I just couldn’t resist the pun in the title!) The Baba Wawa reference cracked me up, so throw a good chortle into the recipe and I should be good as new in no time! As for the jury duty… wild places and things would be way preferable.

      Like

    • Renewing it at this moment would be taking unfair advantage, but I’m hoping to grit my teeth and get it over with once and for all… by next year I’ll be exempt. Hooray!

      Like

    • So far I seem to be holding the worst of the cold or flu at bay. I’m not sure about getting out of jury duty. I suspect it might be postponed and this particular term is about the easiest I could get, given the holiday next Monday (President’s Day) and the end of the month being Thursday… a mere 8 days compared to a normal minimum of 10.

      Like

Leave a Reply

