an extra day in Big Sur

I was supposed to stay with friends who live in Big Sur, but….. right around Xmas time, their road slid down onto the highway. The video clip shows the work being done to clear the rubble to keep it from sliding down onto the Coast Highway while folks were driving down there. The only way my friends could get in and out was to take an ATV on some dubious dirt backroad. I didn’t want to create any extra problems for them, so we met for lunch at the Big Sur River Inn instead. I understand their road has since been rebuilt. If it heads straight up that nearly vertical mountainside, I’m not so sure I’d want to drive up there to visit anyway. Though I bet the views are simply breathtaking.

My friends were delayed by the dynamiting, so I hung out taking some pictures while waiting for them.

IMG_0034

so peaceful and serene…IMG_0036_2the Big Sur River

IMG_0044A relic from the hippy days…

IMG_9999Finally… some last glimpses of that awesome coastline…..IMG_9998_2

Here I came to the very edge
where nothing at all needs saying,
everything is absorbed through weather and the sea,
and the moon swam back,
its rays all silvered,
and time and again the darkness would be broken
by the crash of a wave,
and every day on the balcony of the sea,
wings open, fire is born,
and everything is blue again like morning.
― Pablo Neruda

30 thoughts on “an extra day in Big Sur

  1. Those rocks rolling down the mountain, are really huge. I love the pic of the two chairs by the river. You certainly were so spoilt for choice, when looking for photo opportunities, Gunta. That last quote and pic were made for one another. 🙂

    Like

    • Well, you’re not all that far from it. You could do a post. I just took that one quick snap. In case you hadn’t noticed I’m more into the natural scenics. 😀

      Like

  2. I really love these images Gunta. The picture of the stream through the woods is simply gorgeous!
    Not good when your road disappears down a mountainside. I hope nobody was on it at the time.
    That bus is great! 🙂

    Like

    • I got a chuckle out of some guy mentioning how much he enjoyed his beer while sitting in the river over at TripAdvisor. Bring poncho of umbrella for the rain… 😀

      Like

  3. Beautiful scenes here, Gunta. Thank you again. Our most west, the continent’s edge, and I love
    hearing your fresh/again/memoried admiration. You remind me that I wanted forever to do a painting
    of the River Inn chairs, one of the world’s most brilliant ideas. Maybe now. I think you should add
    ‘River Inn’s Chairs in Big Sur River’ to tags, they are a delight to everyone who sees and sits in them.
    So glad Partington is revived.That was a monumental slide.

    Like

    • I’m so happy you enjoyed my take on this utterly magical corner of our planet. I have such an itch to return again soon, but there’s mundane business to settle first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

