Photo Workshop – day two

I am extremely embarrassed to admit that I missed the sunrise session… there’s no getting around it. I’m a sleepy head. I hadn’t been getting much sleep on the road for two days. Then there’s this psychological thing that happens to me where I simply cannot get to sleep knowing that I have to get up in the wee hours. Still awake and tossing at 5am, I opted out of the sunrise photo session scheduled to start at 6am. Conked out like a light immediately thereafter for a 3 hour snooze.  I managed to join part of the group for a late breakfast.

We were given a breather until noon when we had our first session of image review and workflow. I was thoroughly impressed with the images taken by the eight other participants. Don’s critique emphasized the positives and touched on possible improvements. It was very instructive. I was too embarrassed to present any of the dismal attempts I had at this point. Though apparently not too embarrassed to show them here in the previous posts. Go figure.

Next….  the workflow session was about post processing. Pretty much over my head at this stage. I needed to conquer buttons on the camera for a starting point. Luckily Don provided a private session with Mike to walk me through the basics of my camera, while the rest of the folks did some more complicated stuff that would have been entirely beyond me.

Drumroll here…… 😉

IMG_8980No, I didn’t suddenly absorb everything I needed to know about my camera. Did I mention (for the photo geeks) that I’m shooting with a Canon T3i?)

At this point I decided to take the option to go back to what I know and work on camera basics once I was home again. Here I was in the Disneyland of seascapes and I didn’t want to waste it fumbling around with buttons and settings. So here you have it…..  Big Sur in all its stereotypical postcard glory.

The night shot in my previous post was taken at a tiny turnout just past the Bixby Bridge seen in the images above and below. IMG_8981A closer look at the bridge. Isn’t this some of the most gorgeous, jaw-dropping scenery you can imagine?

Then it was on to Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park for a sunset shot.IMG_9014The cove with McWay Falls…..  another iconic tourist shot that has likely been done any number of times. But it’s my postcard to you folks who have never had the privilege of seeing it for yourselves.IMG_9003Courage is not the absence of fear, but the decision that something is more important than fear.”
― Lisa Tawn BergrenWaterfallIMG_9036As long as I live, I’ll hear waterfalls and birds and winds sing. I’ll interpret the rocks, learn the language of flood, storm, and the avalanche. I’ll acquaint myself with the glaciers and wild gardens, and get as near the heart of the world as I can”.”
― John Muir

Somehow I missed the sunset, too….. 😉

53 thoughts on “Photo Workshop – day two

    • The workshop and the landscape itself were more than enough inspiration for me. I loved it. Every minute of it. If I had any complaints, it was that the time sped by so fast.

      Like

Leave a Reply

