forget me not…

while life intrudes, I thought I’d post a few more archive shots so you don’t write me off altogether. Hoping to get back to normal pretty quick….

IMG_2348But he who dares not grasp the thorn
Should never crave the rose.
― Anne Brontë

IMG_2349

“Two things cannot be in one place. Where you tend a rose, my lad, a thistle cannot grow.”
― Frances Hodgson Burnett

IMG_2350

Once I had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: “No good in a bed, but fine up against a wall.”
― Eleanor Roosevelt

IMG_2351Here’s to alcohol, the rose colored glasses of life.
― F. Scott FitzgeraldThe Beautiful and Damned    😉

42 thoughts on “forget me not…

  1. Absolutely gorgeous flower images! And I love the quotes you choose, so much so that I find myself copying them down. If I were to use one on my site, would you like me to reference you as my ‘source’? I would be happy to acknowledge your site next to the quote.

    Like

    • Funny bit is that I tried to google the Eleanor rose. I didn’t find it, but I did find a bit of a controversy about the quote. Some folks claiming that Eleanor Roosevelt never said it. From what I know of her, it seems plausible that she could have, but either way it was still fun! Everyone seemed to enjoy it, including me.

      Like

  2. Aww Gunta, how could you think we’d forget you? I have to add my vote for the Eleanor quote, a real classic. Your roses are beautiful. My Dad has always been great with roses but here in Cornwall, he’s given up with them. Mine struggle but I’ve had a climbing rose that’s climbed a mere 6″ in four years. As you say, a damp climate is not a climate they enjoy. 🙂

    Like

    • These shots were taken out at Shore Acres (if you remember all the Christmas shots?). Besides the light show, they have really gorgeous gardens. I’m not sure how they manage their roses, but one thing that helps is good fencing to keep the deer out. 😉

      Like

    • I love the old fashioned roses best. It seems to me that many of the newer hybrids seem to have less of the heavenly scent. We didn’t have much luck with roses because the marauding deer herds seemed to prefer roses over nearly any other plant.

      Like

    • Thanks Newsy. The colors of these roses were pretty awesome! 🙂 I’m heading in the right direction as far as normality….. though it’s good things about to keep me busy now.

      Like

  3. Beautiful roses, Gunta! Really wonderful to see them at this time of year! Hope all your troubles end soon and you are smiling again…..especially with the gorgeous weather we are having right now.

    Like

    • Thank you Laura. These roses were shot at Shore Acres. They have a wonderful selection of a pretty wide spectrum of plants and flowers for all seasons. The troubles are settling. I just need to get back in gear again.

      Like

  4. Just finished to read a poem about a rose on another blog and I come here finding so much beauty. Love the colours – nature has painted them perfectly…and the quotes…brilliant! My favourite being the Eleanor Roosevelt’ s one 🙂

    Like

    • Oregon’s damp weather isn’t suited for creating the picture perfect rose, but the colors on these beauties tend to make us overlook the flaws. Eleanor is one of my favorite people.

      Like

  5. I was only thinking of you five minutes ago, Gunta, and here you are. 🙂 Beautiful roses. Love the quotes, particularly the Eleanor Roosevelt one. 😀 I hope you are well and keeping out of mischief.

    Like

  6. I could never do that…and what beautiful flowers, too…and I will confess openly that I absolutely adore Eleanor Roosevelt’s quote…. Be safe in your journeys…..

    Like

    • Smile… or more precisely-GRIN! Eleanor was one gutsy lady. I couldn’t think of too many other women I’d like to emulate! And thank you, I’ll happily take the compliment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

