Coquille River Lighthouse

Still in archives. With heating and plumbing problems hopefully taken care of (still holding my breath πŸ˜‰ ), I’m trying to get back on track, but haven’t had time to roam with the camera. Every once in awhile life just seems to get in the way. But I thought I’d pull up an old-time favorite…..

DSCN2595Can’t explain it, but it’s one of my favorite shots of the lighthouse. This was shot from the south jetty. The lighthouse sits on or near the north jetty.

β€œLighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.”
― Anne Lamott

 

39 thoughts on “Coquille River Lighthouse

    • What cracks me up is this was shot with the little point ‘n shoot, before I had a DSLR. I’ve tried a whole bunch of other shots of the lighthouse, but this one remains a favorite. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, but I think you’re right about it being the lighting.

      Like

  1. Hope your home problems have been resolved by this time. We love this little lighthouse and are sad that we will not be able to be lighthouse hosts at this little gem like we had planned to be this summer.

    Like

  2. Nice pic Gunta, I can see why you used it as wallpaper.Hopefully everything will be back to normal and you can roam the beach again searching for that perfect shot you always get and are kind enough to share with us. πŸ™‚ Hope you have a good weekend!

    Like

  3. I would try to be original, but Adrian said everything that I would have said, so I’ll just say “Ditto to what Adrian said.” It is very pleasing to the eyes, Gunta…and there’s an allure to it, as well. And I rather enjoy the quote, too…none of the running around crap, just being there, doing what they do…. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Thanks Scott. Needless to say I’ve stared at this one quite a bit. It’s on the calendar and it’s been my wallpaper in the past and I’ve brought it back again as such. I think what fascinates me is trying to pin down the elements that seem to make this one work better than so many others.

      As for the quote. It says quite a lot in so few words. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • You are most welcome…and I’m sure you have stared at it quite a bit…and it would make a wonderful wallpaper. I could only guess at what might make it better than so many others…maybe it’s simply the totality of the image…colors and lines, the objects themselves…and of course, the emotional attachment that you have to the place itself…what it represents to Gunta…but it is a damn fine photograph…one that I would be proud to have taken…. And yes, I dig the quote for that reason, too….

        Like

  4. I can see why you like this shot so much Gunta. It’s a wonderful photograph. I’m glad you dipped back into the archives for this one. It’s a really pleasing composition with the rocky foreground, the water and then the lighthouse itself. I’m also glad to hear your plumbing and electrical problems are behind you. I hope that Sissy has settled down again. It’s very annoying when life gets in the way of photography isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • As I mentioned to Newsy…. this one was wallpaper on the laptop for some time and I just returned it there. There is so much going on from the rocks in the foreground, to the different colors in the river, not to mention the lighthouse, the fog and then the light on the waves in the beach beyond…
      Hmmm… I should have considered this for the weekly theme (perhaps I’ll go back and revise it as such.)

      Like

    • Thanks Newsy… it’s amazing how some pictures just appeal. I was skimming back through archives and brought this one back as wallpaper on the laptop where it had been for some time previously. The foreground, the wispy fog and the light on the water has a lot going for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

