Weather report

Winter time…….  our rainy season replaces cows with ducks and egrets and such in the fields where the river overflows…..

IMG_7745

“Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influence of the earth.”
― Henry David ThoreauWalden

IMG_7760This season brings back the migrating winged life…….

IMG_7789…and this is what it looked like at the jetty…..
“In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.”
― Albert Camus

40 thoughts on “Weather report

  1. Pingback: approaching spring « Movin' on

    • I’m with you on winter being a favorite season -especially not that it doesn’t involve mountains of snow. The storms are exciting with an option to hibernate when they get too wild. Thanks, Tahira.

      Like

  2. I love this feature of your life up there, Gunta…the expected (and welcome?) seasonal flooding of the fields and the rich waves on your ocean…great capture on that last one, too….

    Like

    • I just happen to have a chart with average highs and lows at my page titled “Tide Tables”. This time of year average daytime temps are in the 50s. Yes, it can be colder by the ocean, but mostly only during storms when the wind can get pretty wild. I’ve also had some t-shirt weather days during the winter right along the coast. It varies quite a bit. The Pacific helps to keep our temps pretty moderate. The inland valleys (East of the Coastal Range) get more extreme weather, colder in the winter and hotter in the summer.

      Like

  3. I would have huge problems with sunless days and rain so much of the time, but gosh your photos are so lovely. But I can’t trade my sun every day. lol

    Like

    • My preference is changeable weather. I easily get bored with long stretches of sun or rain. Summer is the worst for endless days of sun. Winter here gives us a series of storms that come in, with enough sunshine in between to keep it interesting.

      Like

    • Amazing how we can share the same sort of weather halfway around the globe…. I’m so glad you enjoyed the quote I dug up…. and, yes, to beauty being found if you just take the trouble to look for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

