good moon rising…..

Thank you all for your votes and comments on my previous post….

It looks like the first image seems to be the winner (11 to 6 – with 5 undecideds), but I loved the comments which helped me to see the why behind your choices. I’ll have to admit to favoring the first shot myself after seeing it through your comments. I believe it was the reflection that did it for me…. Β right side up or upside down πŸ˜‰

This was the moon coming up that same evening after an extremely pleasant stroll on the beach. It was a waxing gibbous moon (I looked it up)…. Β not quite a full moon at this point, but close. I never paid a lot of attention to how the phase of the moon influences the extent of the tides…. Β but seeing it in real life (as opposed to a text) is making it quite clear.

There is something haunting in the light of the moon; it has all the dispassionateness of a disembodied soul, and something of its inconceivable mystery.
-Joseph Conrad

46 thoughts on “good moon rising…..

    • Thanks Gary. I felt the same way about the first one – it was what I was going for, except it would have been nice to have the moon in focus (as in the 2nd). Someday I may conquer all the buttons in order to do that…. I appreciate the comment very much.

      Like

  1. You caught it beautifully – love the grasses. Did you get to see the sun and the moon in the sky together? Once had the chance to see them framed by a covered terrace in France – each perfectly framed by an arch. Wondered if I’d had one too many glasses of wine πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Well, that certainly created a burst of laughter. No, I don’t think I’ve ever seen them line up that way. Sounds like your scene would have made a fantastic image.

      Like

    • Thanks Ese… I love how huge the moon can seem when it first shows up just above the horizon. This was the first time I had a chance to actually catch it on ‘film’ at the right place and time…

      Like

      • Spooky, mystical, yet wonderful. Sometimes when I see the full moon in absolutely dark sky, I tend to open the window (living on the top of the building has it’ s “pros” sometimes) and take some photos…just can’ t resist how megnteic the view is. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I like the first pic best.I was just imagining you walking there with that moon hanging above you and the grass waving in the wind. Both pics give me a feeling of bleakness. Maybe I’d feel differently if I was actually there with you. I guess I’m more of a sun person.:)

    Like

    • Yeah…. I still haven’t figured out all the buttons on the camera…. so, this is all autofocus for now and no tripod… so, of course, the moon wasn’t in focus in the 1st shot….. but I was relatively happy with the overall effect in both. I’m still playing and learning.

      Like

        • You could have just gone with satmospheric….. I figured it was a mix of stratospheric and atmospheric… (besides, I sometimes take the liberty of correcting typos if they actually bug me)! Understood about the gothic influence… read a lot of Hardy and Bronte, etc etc…. but still like the more romantic version better. Then again, you’re welcome to your version. Might be it fits your mood better. πŸ˜‰

          Like

Leave a Reply

