cliffs at sunset

The setting sun paints the cliffs at Simpson Reef…   

Eastward I go only by force; but westward I go free. It is hard for me to believe that I shall find fair landscapes or sufficient wildness and freedom behind the eastern horizon. I am not excited by the prospect of a walk thither; but I believe that the forest which I see in the western horizon stretches uninterruptedly toward the setting sun, and there are no towns nor cities in it of enough consequence to disturb me. Let me live where I will, on this side is the city, on that the wilderness, and ever I am leaving the city more and more, and withdrawing into the wilderness…. I must walk toward Oregon, and not toward Europe.
Henry David Thoreau

41 thoughts on “cliffs at sunset

    • Thanks, m’dear…. it’s kind of interesting and fun how folks have different tastes. This one would not be at the top of my list, but I love that you like it so much. It’s good to have a little something for everyone! 😉

      Like

  1. The quote fits very nicely – and this is just special. Its easy to see why if you look at the care that has gone into each and every detail of picture composition. But the colours are a palette. This is a picture that would look wonderful framed, large size, on a wall.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying them even if they do make you want to come back again! I finally got around to checking out your RV friends blog and they may have convinced me to take the tour of the lighthouses in Bandon and Blanco. I’ve noticed this strange phenomenon where locals often don’t visit the sites (or sights) the tourists or visitors do. I’ll have to admit to being guilty of that, too. Must fix that someday, though I think I’m too late for this year.

      Like

      • I think we have all been guilty of not taking advantage or appreciating what is right under our noses at time. Nina’s blog and her photography is great, isn’t it?

        Like

        • Yes, to Nina’s blog and photography being great. I’m glad to took the time to peek at it. I’m hoping to have a bit of time to do some additional exploring.

          Like

    • Thanks, Chilly… I rather wondered about that myself. Perhaps I’ll need to keep an eye on it. I just stumbled across a reference to our record winds during a storm here of 145 mph (don’t know how that translates to metric). I think just one of our wild winter storms might knock that poor tree into the sea.
      Ummm…. isn’t there an ocean between you and Oregon?

      Like

Leave a Reply

