Weekly Photo Challenge: silhouette

Table Rock (on the left), Bandon

That over these sea pastures, wide rolling watery prairies, and Potters’ Fields of all four continents, the waves should rise and fall, and ebb and flow unceasingly: for here, millions of mixed shades and shadows, drowned dreams, somnambulisms, reveries; all that we call lives and souls lie dreaming, dreaming, still; tossing like some slumberers in their beds; the ever rolling waves but made so by the restlessness.
― Herman Melville, Moby-Dick

The weekly photo challenge explained HERE (along with other entries for the challenge)

41 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: silhouette

  1. I know I read the book before I had the appreciation for words that I do today…before I could see this image in my mind simply by reading those words…. What a photo, Gunta…wonderful….

    Like

    • You are so right. I’m even tempted to have this one blown up for the wall… until the next one comes along. I’ve thought of searching for a large(ish) flatscreen where I could just display a slideshow of the current favorite shots. That way I wouldn’t (shouldn’t) get bored with any of them.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette « patriciaddrury

  3. Pingback: Daily Post Theme – Silhouettes « thegingerbreadcafe

    • Just one of them magical nights…. and no alligators, though there were masses of birds heading out to sea – too high up identify (cormorants if I had to guess from size, too big to be gulls.)

      Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette « What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

