Līgo Circle of Appreciation

Well, this one strikes pretty close to my heart (and my roots in Latvia)…… and I think we can all use a bit of appreciation.

From the land of my birth….

The yearly Līgo celebration happens every summer solstice in Latvia.
At this time we adorn our heads with Līgos of flowers, oak leaves,
grasses and plants. We join circles around bonfires and celebrate life,
and our appreciation of each other.

Here’s our
Līgo Circle of Appreciation
among fellow bloggers.

For duration of 22 days, starting on 1st October 2012, we will be inviting
2 bloggers per day
to join the Līgo Circle of Appreciation.

PLEASE NOTE: This is an Appreciation, NOT an Award.

To fully participate in the Līgo Circle of Appreciation:
~
* Complete this sentence about blogging: ”A great blog is…

* Refer back to the blogger who invited you

* Invite 2 bloggers to join the Līgo Circle of Appreciation on a post

In my ‘humble opinion’ a great blog is one which holds my interest….  for the most part I tend to like good visuals (Seekraz, Rachael, another Scott or Gary’s balancing act). I also enjoy humor (Tinky) and once in awhile I like blogs that make me think (but not too much 😉 )…  and far too many to list here.

Many thanks to Esenga’s Voice for the appreciation…… (check out her carousel of images from Latvia and its midsummer celebration.)

I appreciate and invite the following two bloggers to join this circle:

Grace at Czech the Flip  -for glimpses of the life of an expat in the Czech Republic

Nancy at Serendipity 13 – for happy thoughts and lots of color

There are others I might have chosen except- Sylvia, you’re far too busy packing and I was just given two to choose…..

I thought I’d also add a few photos of my own from an incredible visit to Latvia back in October of 1989….  still a time when things were pretty somber and somewhat run down under the Soviet fist….

The iconic Monument to Freedom… which wasn’t restored until 1991 when Latvia regained its Independence.Rīga, the capital of Latvia is known for its beautiful art nouveau buildings and the historical centre of Riga has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

From the UNESCO site: “It is generally recognized that Riga has the finest collection of art nouveau buildings in Europe.”

This is just a small sample of the fantastic details to be seen throughout the Old Town. Sadly my collection of photos did not survive well. For more images go to the UNESCO site gallery page.

Part of the original wall dating back to the 13th century I believe…

There’s also a neat site that does a good job of describing the Līgo Festival HERE (warning, it’s mildly PG-13 😉 )

37 thoughts on “Līgo Circle of Appreciation

  1. Pingback: Ligo… Circle of Appreciation… Passing It On! « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  2. Gunta, I apologize for the very late response to this. I am trying to juggle a couple of things right now. Thank you very much for including me in the circle. I am so honored. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh Grace, there is nothing to apologize for. I understand life takes precedence over blogs… especially since I saw that spectacular house you’re building (can’t wait to see and learn more about it!) Besides… maybe you don’t remember, but it took me forever to acknowledge your award, too. I didn’t even have such a good excuse as yours. 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: Ligo Circle of Appreciation « Journey Around The Globe

  4. Pingback: Circle of Appreciation: SBI Edition | Serendipity 13

  5. Thank you for the mention, Miss Gunta…and for the intro to some new ones to add to my list. 😉 I enjoyed the images from your homeland, too. Will have to visit the other lady’s blog from Latvia to get another view of it.

    Like

  6. Your photography, as always, is stunning Gunta. Riga looks like an amazing city, one to add to the bucket list. A good blog reaches in and touches my soul, whether prose or photography, sometimes melancholy, sometimes funny, sometimes thought-provoking, bringing back memories, always leaving its mark.

    Like

  7. Thank you, Gunta, for being a part of the Līgo Circle of Appreciation and the lovely post. Can almost imagine the spots the photos have been taken at, beautiful…you definitely should come back for more! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, m’dear…. Exactly why I didn’t name you. Of course there was no way I could have passed this one up….. having been born in the land of Līgo….

      Like

    • Oh Newsy… I did such a lousy job of coming up with something to say!! I simply LOVE your suggestion. Perhaps I should have included you, but unlike the other awards going around this one limited me to two….. very hard choice! ♥ ♥ ♥

      Like

    • Thanks, Newsy. I thought it was pretty special to be included. Glad you liked my measly photos… almost makes me want to endure a flight to return and get some better ones….

      Like

Leave a Reply

