wild waves

The whistle buoy near the end of the jetty was getting splashed a whole lot more than usual. I doubt there were too many boats out in this wild surf.The jetty where the Coquille River empties into the Pacific Ocean. I think these were the wildest waves I’ve ever seen at this beach. It was actually pretty exciting and exhilarating.Β Looking southward, it was quite hazy and watching that surf gone wild, it occurred to me that I reallyΒ ought to be somewhere else…

Roughly 25 miles north at Shore Acres where I’ve seen some iconic shots of the waves crashing against the above cliffs…Note the two people up on the cliffs for a sense of scale….This was one of the most exhilarating days I’ve had on the coast yet….By now there are at least ten people up on the cliffs facing this huge eruption of surf… they’re not easy to see unless you zoom in.I thought I was going to have to come out here during some wild storm to catch this wave action, but it was such a lovely day I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I also couldn’t seem to stop shooting. If these last shots seem repetitious, trust me… it took every bit of restraint I had not to post the other some odd hundred! πŸ˜‰

46 thoughts on “wild waves

  1. Awesome! One of these days I need to take a long trip down along the Oregon Coast. Seems like I’ve been everywhere else in Oregon but there. Actually, I have been to the coast, but only as far south as Tillamook (a really long time ago).

    Like

    • Thanks, Peggy. It’s kind of ironic because I’ve been wanting to head up in your direction to do some exploring. Personally, I think the best part of the Oregon Coast starts around Bandon and continues south to the Calif. border. GIve me a holler if you need any help planning your trip down here. πŸ™‚

      Like

        • Your comment brought to mind a conversation I just had with a friend yesterday who had attended one of those ’emergency preparedness’ meetings…. we both agreed we’d much rather go out in a tsunami than to suffer through cancer or dementia…. given a choice, of course! πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • I used to be hounded by repetitive dreams of being washed off the road by water. I would wake up terrified. Then one night I decided, for whatever reason, to take control of the dream and made it out of the water to safety. They pretty much ceased then, although water remains a common element for my dreams.
            I hear you about ways to go out. At least you live in Oregon which is progressive enough to allow for some dignity. I tell people I don’t want to live “too long” and I mean it.

            Like

  2. The shot with the folks at the lookout is amazing…..really shows the scale of those incredible waves. How nice to have the weather cooperate and give you a beautiful blue sky. Look forward to photos of those flowers!

    Like

    • Believe it or not, but each of those monster wave shots had folks up there on the cliffs. They are so tiny you have to click twice to be able to see them.

      The flowers were almost a letdown after the show the Pacific put on. And… they had the orchids indoors and it was pretty dark, so those shots didn’t come out so well. We’ll see…..

      Like

  3. Beautiful and wonderful and full of all of that energy you were just mentioning the other day…. How nice that you were able to capture it without getting drenched during a storm. I can almost feel your heart pounding from here! Good for you. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It was so totally amazing! This morning I could still see the image of those crashing waves with my eyes closed. Did you notice that mother nature gave me a heart in that last shot? (or maybe just Mickey Mouse?) The third shot from the end looks like a woman holding a cross or a sword in the air…

      Like

      • It looks like it was amazing for you, Gunta…and I’m sure you could still see the waves crashing with your eyes closed…I know I’ve had a similar experience on my hikes…not crashing waves, of course…but I understand it…and it’s wonderful when it happens. πŸ™‚

        And yes, I did see your heart (not Mickey) and the woman holding something in the air…maybe it’s a female incarnation of Titan and that was her scepter…. I’m very happy that you got your waves…. πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Fabulous! I would love to have been there. Nothing exhilarates like wild waves. Are you familiar with the poems of H.D? Here’s one your shots brought to mind:
    Whirl up, seaβ€”
    whirl your pointed pines,
    splash your great pines
    on our rocks,
    hurl your green over us,
    cover us with your pools of fir.
    (H.D., ‘Oread’)

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos highlighting the power of nature. I visited an island in N Wales a couple of weeks ago – on one side of the island the peace and tranquillity were breath-taking. On the other side, the sea was wild and headstrong, and my untamed, unfettered spirit came to the fore. Thank you for bringing back the memories of that day. Bless you.

    Like

  6. I love the sea when it’s wild like that. I’m so glad you included the observation point to give these waves scale. It would have been difficult to drag me away. The action of a big storm out to sea making landfall on a bright sunny day is a perfect combination. I’m glad you were there to record it for us Gunta. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks, Chillbrook. I honestly don’t know how it could get any better than this. I did have a hard time leaving the scene. I wondered what might have caused all those wild waves on this mild, sunny day. Makes sense it could be coming from further offshore. Including that observation point was a given. I suspect that the shots taken from the other end of the path might have been missing some of the impact that comes with that sense of proportion or scale. But it was right nice of those folks to stand there for my sake. πŸ˜‰ Just wish the larger group had worn brighter clothes.

      It certainly was a magical day! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

