Monument Valley

If Monument Valley was a National Park, I likely would have included it in the Top Ten series, but it’s a Navajo Tribal Park in Arizona. I think this was part of a trip we took around 1987. This is some incredible scenery. The fantastic cloud formations didn’t hurt one bit.

The iconic Mittens… many of these scenes were often seen in western movies.

My cowboy in Indian territory. Back in that day he was teaching a number of Navajo youngsters how to run heavy equipment at the Technical College in Utah.

42 thoughts on “Monument Valley

  1. Hi!! Hey, I love that picture of the large sand dune with the creek at the bottom. I was thinking that location might have been used in one of John Wayne’s old movies where the Indians absconded with the young girl of the family, Debbie, and he and one of the men were out looking for her. She was supposedly the property of a fierce Chief by the name of “Scar” who was already known to Wayne? I’m thinking the name of the movie was “The Searchers”??
    Anyway, this was the point at which the real Debbie came running down the dune to meet with them and tell them to leave, but, she was spotted by a scout and the fight/chase was on!
    What do you think?

    Like

  2. An excellent series of shots. I hope to return to this place before long. I thoroughly enjoyed our visit (in 2009). However, I would love to see it in less clear weather. The stormer skies in you shots are so atmospheric!

    Like

    • I must say I’ve been extraordinarily lucky in catching some gorgeous skies on some of our major trips. I suppose it might be that we usually avoided summer (tourist) season, though this one was at Christmas – which happens to be a good time to travel if you’re allergic to crowds.

      Like

      • We were there at Easter. It was very quiet, but the skies did insist on being monotonously blue most of the time. All that changed by the time we got to Bryce and Zion though. Must go back!

        Like

    • I’m sorry, but these photos are roughly 25 years old. I barely remember the exact year or season, much less the time of day. The clouds were just pure luck. It’s an incredibly beautiful landscape, though. No doubt about it.

      Like

      • Hmm… I just noticed that I named this series as part of the Xmas of ’83 trip when I scanned it. That seems highly likely as to time of year. I’ve never been an early riser, so best guess is that these were shot sometime around mid-day… I believe we were there for several hours. Again, guessing… but it’s likely the magnificent clouds that gave these the good lighting and added to the visual effect.

        Like

    • That third shot is almost required if you go to Monument Valley. And just think, there’s no HDR involved. I know it’s purely a matter of taste, but to take out all the shadows seems to flatten an image in my mind. You also have to keep in mind that these photos are a quarter of a century old!!! 😉

      Like

    • Again, I can’t help but wish the photos from that era had held up a wee bit better. But I’m glad you liked them. Hubby was allowed to come with me on these trips in the 80s. 😉 Actually, he almost outdid me in the itch to travel. I am so grateful we took the opportunity we had to explore that four corners region when we had the chance. It is a pretty amazing, mind-boggling landscape.

      Like

      • Yes, we wish those things sometimes, wanting the old photos to carry through with a modern beauty and crispness…but maybe they just speak to the timelessness of the place, to the eternal ability to touch our selves in ways that transcend words…misty and fading colors that evoke memories that may have faded a little with the passing of time, but still remain with the depth of the substance they had when we first glimpsed them…maybe….

        Like

  3. We were hoping to swing in that direction on our way to the desert SW for the winter, but snow has already hit the high country here in CO making us cautious of mountain passes with the Rig. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

    Like

    • Hah! I was hoping to head east and north… maybe revisiting the four corners area or heading up into the Canadian Rockies, but I’ve heard so much about the smoke and haze from the fires and I was getting the feeling that the snows might arrive a bit early this year, so I’m trying to decide where I might go for a jaunt. Might have to throw a dart at the map. Or keep it local, though we’re experiencing quite a bit of smoky haze here, too.

      Like

  4. I have done that a few times. I make so many mistakes here, I have to laugh them off. You have so many great posts, that keep adding to my must see list. If I don’t get there at least I have seen your photos. Thank you.

    Like

    • Thanks Newsy… that entire area known as the Colorado Plateau and including parts of four of our western states is pretty incredible. I consider myself truly lucky to have seen and enjoyed so much of it.

      Like

    • BTW…. you ever hit the “Publish” button instead of the “Preview”….. I wasn’t quite ready for a viewing when this zoomed out into cyberspace…. doesn’t seem to be any way to retrieve it.

      Like

        • I was tempted to try that, but only had a few minor changes which I went ahead and fixed. Seemed like too much trouble to remember how to copy the post. I suspect that’s where I sometimes get the “page not available” thing when I try to pull up someone’s post.

          Like

Leave a Reply

