Driftwood initials

This huge chunk of driftwood has fascinated me from the first time I encountered it.It has to be from an old root that has been tossed and weathered for ages since it seems to be trapped behind the larger sea stacks. Pity I didn’t have a person handy to show the scale of the thing.This shot may give those of you familiar with these sea stacks an idea of where it’s located and possibly even relative size. If I had to guess, I’d say it’s at least six feet tall. It sits there in the bottom left corner of the above photo.But here’s the thing I find interesting… apparently folks seem to feel an urge to carve on this root and judging by the numbers, it’s been here for quite a few years.I keep trying to puzzle out the number near the bottom right which looks like 1943 or 1948 to me. Surely this piece couldn’t have sat there that long…?True love carved in hardwood. πŸ˜‰

41 thoughts on “Driftwood initials

  1. Pingback: a matter of scale « Movin' on

  2. I’m guessing that it’s really a 1998 and that top line was either forgotten or lightly carved. I have no good reason for that except that there seems to be nothing from the 50s, 60s, 70s or 80s, but there is a(nother) 90s entry. In any case, I love that it’s so big and that it’s there and that you shot it.

    Like

    • I rather suspected the same or something similar, but you nailed the reason. I’m quite satisfied with 1998. Even that has that piece trapped there for quite a few years. Could not help myself as for shooting it. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. WOW…this one is almost a time capsule….perhaps one of the ‘carvers’ might see your post and add their story…wouldn’t that be fascinating….this one definitely stirs the imagination…Ms “G”…Nice work!! .

    Like

    • Well, we are at the outer edge of redwood country. Not all that surprising to find a stump that size. If you’ve ever seen any of the old growth redwoods, they were impossibly huge.

      Like

  4. Driftwood has been a fascination for me. As a girl we went to the beach, others would look for shells I would look for driftwood. High on the mantle of my fireplace is a piece of driftwood from years ago. The urge to carve also applies to living trees, benches and wooden rails. I try to imagine where it came from. i think the date is 1948. Nice post- thanks.

    Like

    • Yes, my interesting thoughts are about congratulating your guy’s gold over Phelps. But I have to admit to being happy about Latvia’s win over your beach volley ball team. Gotta root for the land where I was born! Tomorrow they face the USA. A bit ambivalent about that one, but I’ll back the underdog… πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Driftwood is fascinating… I love the textures and I’m amazed at how the waves can toss those enormous, water-logged monster chunks of wood around like toothpicks.

      Like

  5. The eternal urge to leave one’s mark. It looks like nature is doing its wonderful best to erase our crassness. Stunning photos – yes, something to show the scale would be good but we hope you’ll revisit this gnarled old beauty again πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • It kind of makes me think of dogs lifting their leg… I’ll certainly revisit. It is my favorite beach after all. Perhaps I’ll catch a person near it someday. Or better yet… it is near the spot where I happened to catch the sea lion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

