California Redwoods

It simply is not possibly to capture on ‘film’ the size and the grandeur of the Redwoods.This is by no means one of the larger trees, but this couple gave some indication of size simply by standing inside what might have been a lightning strike or fire.I can’t help but wonder how many visitors are spooked by this sign…

Everything is so lush and green…..

This was just day one of the trip to Redwood Country. The above pictures were taken on a small section of a scenic bypass off the highway. (The Newton Drury Parkway) It’s a relatively short, pleasant drive that gives a good glimpse of some redwoods. There’s also a  park where the elk hang out. I noticed they were in full regalia with what might have been velvet, but I didn’t stop to take any pictures since we have plenty of them much closer to home.

22 thoughts on “California Redwoods

  1. Pingback: Home…. « Movin' on

  2. Pingback: Top Ten National Parks #3 « Movin' on

  3. Aside from the beauty of those majestic trees, forests, what I remember as being so incredible is that silence–I’ve never experienced anything like that since.

    Like

  4. California did give me some sun, with bits of fog and clouds. Oregon….. well, Oregon was typical Oregon weather. Started the trip with rain and drizzle and ended it the same way. I still love Oregon with all its crazy moods. Last February it gave me some marvelous weather for my birthday trip down the coast. Best present ever.

    Like

    • It’s the ONLY way to suggest a hint of just how gigantic and awesome they are. Even if I pasted a series of shots together to take in a single tree, it still wouldn’t be anything you could imagine unless you’ve seen them in real life. (and I haven’t figured out how to stitch different shots together yet -been much too busy enjoying myself.) I thought it was lovely that those two just happened to be standing there just for me.

      Like

        • California did give me some sun, with bits of fog and clouds. Oregon….. well, Oregon was typical Oregon weather. Started the trip with rain and drizzle and ended it the same way. I still love Oregon with all its crazy moods. Last February it gave me some marvelous weather for my birthday trip down the coast. Best present ever.

          Like

          • Oregon…gave me EXACTLY the mixture of weather I wanted for my Birthday too…..I think that’s what I love most about this part of the country…..the hundreds of micro-climates….and constant changes in weather conditions….HAVE FUN…drive safe!

            Like

    • Stopping in a grove of these trees, with the hushed silence, is about the closest thing I’ve ever come to a religious experience. It’s beyond words or descriptions and I only wish I could begin to capture just a small part of that feeling in pictures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

