Whiskey Run

WhiskeyRun-1308Doubt as sin. — Christianity has done its utmost to close the circle and declared even doubt to be sin. One is supposed to be cast into belief without reason, by a miracle, and from then on to swim in it as in the brightest and least ambiguous of elements: even a glance towards land, even the thought that one perhaps exists for something else as well as swimming, even the slightest impulse of our amphibious nature — is sin! And notice that all this means that the foundation of belief and all reflection on its origin is likewise excluded as sinful. What is wanted are blindness and intoxication and an eternal song over the waves in which reason has drowned. 
― Friedrich NietzscheDaybreak: Thoughts on the Prejudices of Morality

47 thoughts on “Whiskey Run

    • Thanks, Lyn. I was a wee bit surprised I didn’t get a bit more flak… I just finished a book called “Doubt” and all 494 pages were informative and interesting.

  1. I’d say that the quote and the image went over Very Well, Gunta……and it looks like you’re in good company here, too…”yadda, yadda…..” :)

    • You want to expand on the ”yadda, yadda…..”? Just kidding, but I agree. I’m rather surprised at the response actually. I’m truly loving the book I’m currently reading. If you’re interested, it’s down there in the GoodReads widget (until I finish the book named “Doubt” – the other one is an audiobook that I listen to when on the road.)

  2. Wonderfully composed image and I must say, the exposure is also perfect! I’m a big Nietzsche fan, and love the quote. “What is wanted are blindness and intoxication and an eternal song over the waves in which reason has drowned.” Oh, YES!

    • Thanks for the great review for the image…. I figured the quote might just be right down your alley! :D It goes very nicely with the book I’m currently reading titled “Doubt”…. it’s listed in my Goodreads widget at the bottom of this page…. though not much longer since I’m nearing the end of the 500 +/- pages. Very fine book!

    • Quite amazing what a bit of Lightroom can accomplish! :D I try not to say that too loudly because I’ve been reprimanded about post-processing on occasion. Looks like I’ve got a good crowd following. I wasn’t entirely sure how the Nietzsche quote would go over. It pretty much sums up my thinking.

    • Alan Watts was a favorite of mine. I still have some dog-eared copies of his books. Sadly the link to the video has been blocked, but I loved the quotes you used. Perhaps I need to refresh my memory of his words again. Thank you for the kind words… I suspect the sensitive eye likely was developed in the days when I was reading Watts? ;)

      • Thanks for telling me about the video, Gunta. What a shame it had music under copyright in it because the dialog was so right on. I have posted Learn to Swim in its place now.

      • Local “lore” has it that whiskey run got it’s name from the gold miners who took turns journeying over to Randolph to pick up whiskey casks from the supply store and brought them back to the diggings. (ie: the whiskey run)

        • Our coast had gold mining? Not something I was aware of even though hubby dug into quite a bit of local history. I would have guessed that the whiskey casks were dropped at the beach from boats, but wasn’t sure how feasible that might have been.

          • Probably not too easy of a delivery in the surf. Randolph was the happenings and a busy little port in the day. Whiskey run has black sands that have gold flakes in it. There will often be sluice miners with portable equipment that they wheelbarrow down the beach working over the black sands.

            • Interesting! I find that sort of lore fascinating. Thanks for passing it on! It’s sure a beautiful spot, but a bit isolated for me to wander alone.

  3. Your image is breathtaking! And when it comes to Nietche, we could swap Christianity with American exceptionalism and get to the same destination (IMHO).

    • Thanks ever so much…. I would just as soon eliminate, or subdue both if I had my druthers, but I suspect these things go through cycles.

  4. Great light!! The quote reminds me of the frustrating discussion this week on FB…some guy saying there is only ONE way and until I find it…yadda yadda yadda.

  5. I see in the rocks a drowsy dragon, days fiery work done, settling into the sand at sunset.

    A wonderful passage from Nietzche… without doubt human consciousness would otherwise still be focused on what it could learn from the next tree branch over.
    Leaps of faith onto the savannahs without checking out the tall grass first? The lions win every time.

    -toothy grin-

    • Jerry… I got to thinking that I gave you a rather flip answer to your implied question. The truth is that I don’t have the skill or the patience that you do on the technical side, so I get there using post-processing. I’ll send you a before and after to show you how I managed this shot.

Oh please do....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,041 other followers

