Agate Beach

A post dinner stroll to watch the sun descend at Agate Beach, Newport, OregonNewport-5090Looking south across the beach….Agate-5088Looking north toward the Yaquina Head Lighthouse Newport-5102A slightly closer look at the lighthouse, but featuring the clouds hovering above it.Newport-5121Then the sun dropping down with panache.

What is the meaning of life? That was all- a simple question; one that tended to close in on one with years, the great revelation had never come. The great revelation perhaps never did come. Instead, there were little daily miracles, illuminations, matches struck unexpectedly in the dark; here was one. 
― Virginia WoolfTo the Lighthouse

39 thoughts on “Agate Beach

    • Thanks for the lovely comment and the link. As I noted at the post you linked to, there seem to be some interesting echoes happening here. I also do audiobooks in the car when I’m traveling. It sure beats whatever is available on the radio.

  1. Truly beautiful Gunta, wish I could walk there with you! And that Virginia Woolf quote really struck me. I’ve only really discovered her work in the last couple years..such a brilliant writer!

    • Wouldn’t it be wonderful to share a walk on ‘my’ beaches? I didn’t particularly care for Woolf when I had to read her in college, but I’ve come to appreciate her more these days.

  2. Beautiful, Gunta…and you even caught some Cow Parsnip in the photos…how wonderful that you have them there at your ocean, too…so far away from our mountain canyons. :)

  3. I just happened to notice the title of this blog post in Mark’s Box Canyon blog roll. What a coincidence that I just left this stunning beauty of a lighthouse about 30 minutes ago. Wish my pictures had turned out as shimmering as yours. Lovely.

    • Thanks, Suzanne. I just did a jaunt up to Seaside and back home (yes, sticks and bricks) near Bandon. I’ll continue posting about that trip over the next few days. I spent the night in Newport looking out at the lighthouse just this past Wed. night. I was lucky to catch that lovely sunset. Thanks for visiting! :)

  4. Just Beautiful. Perfect timing for that last shot. You’ve captured the rays of light without any of the bright glare that’s usually present at that time.

Oh please do....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,094 other followers

