no-name beach

Doing a bit more exploring, I pulled into one of the many parking spots along the highway to this stretch of beach just north of Seal Rock. Even in summer, I only met one other person out there and that was just as I was returning to the car after a lengthy stroll. There are many spots that the crowds don’t get to. It’s the highway and the attractions with signs that tend to gather the crowds.N_Coast-5010Approaching through the beach grass to the wide open sandy stretch…N_Coast-5052How would you like this for a back yard? We’ll try not to think of the winds and the storms that have shaped those trees, nor the threat of that bank crumbling from under the houses built up there. :roll:

N_Coast-5036One of many creeks running into the sea…

Look! A trickle of water running through some dirt! I’d say our afternoon just got booked solid! 
― Bill Watterson

31 thoughts on “no-name beach

  1. Now these beach images remind me of Cape Cod. That last one looks like it could be of Head of the Meadow in Truro. How nice that you can still find deserted beaches in the summer!

    • Yes, we do have our flat stretches like the Cape, but the rugged cliffs and sea stacks are a bit more common here than there. As for finding deserted beaches, I just hope some still remain in my lifetime. :/

  2. I admire Mr. Watterson’s perspective on what’s important in life…..and I think that last photo is incredible…so very inviting. Well done, Gunta. :)

    • Thank you, Scott. It’s a wonderful world and a beautiful life… meant to enjoy to the fullest. I think that was the essence of Watterson’s words.

    • I’d like to do the house in those tones with a splash from your gravatar….. come to think of it, that’s pretty close to what I have! :D

    • That view would be heavenly if it weren’t for the apparent evidence of that bank sliding down into the sea…. I prefer driving a small distance to get the view and walk the beach.

    • Almost as good as your beach, eh? Thanks for the lovely compliment. I couldn’t resist the quote, nor the chuckle when I stumbled on the quote! :)

    • That one house looks to be in a particularly precarious situation. I’m no expert, but the bank there looks like it might have had a recent slide, for sure making the backyard a bit smaller. That’s just one reason I wouldn’t want to live right on the beach… perhaps if I could afford a 2nd home (dream on!)

  3. That’s my kind of beach, for sure. In fact you’ve so inspired me with those shots I’m off for a stroll. There’ll be no-one around at this time on a Sunday morning

    • Hope you had a marvelous stroll. It’s definitely my kind of beach, too. There’s still plenty of open spaces out here, but you almost have to know the hidden gems to enjoy them when summer crowds invade.

  4. Stunning pictures, Gunta, particularly the first one. Don’t stop exploring and expanding your horizons as we are the beneficiary with posts like this! I also love the quote. :D

    • I have to admit that the waves were about as calm as it ever gets. I heard someone else comment on it (I think it was the local TV news).

Oh please do....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,035 other followers

